Final Series Awards Cape Panwa Hotel Phuket Raceweek

The Final Series Awards Cape Panwa Hotel Phuket Raceweek 2018 welcomes the Guest of Honour, Vice Admiral Somnuk Preampramot, Commander, Third Naval Area Command and Radm Jaruke Samkaphut, Deputy Commander Third Naval Area Command.

The final scorecard saw Ray Roberts’ boat Team Hollywood sweep its class to earn IRC I honours. On stage, Ray paid tribute to the CPHPR saying it was the best regatta in the region, its organizer Byron Jones was a genius and that PRO Simon James did an excellent job of planning the race courses. Loco, East Marine Emagine, Ramrod and Megazip rounded out the class, finishing in that order.

Final Series Awards 

The IRC 1 – 40 Division class saw Craig Nicholl’s experienced team on Aquarii beat out Loco, East Marine Emagine and Ramrod.    

Dane Niels Degenkolw continued to display his sailing wizardry as Phoenix won seven straight races to capture the IRC II class despite a DNF on their last race. Phoenix was followed by Krabi Boat Lagoon Pinocchio, Prime Factor, the Sailescapes Farrgo Ladies team. Platu and Jing Jing.   

Keith Garry’s Beaux Esprits narrowly beat Chris Mitchell’s Lady Bubbly by one point to take the Cruising (NHC) class, Venture, Linda, Sand Groper, Kantus Bride, Astreaus, and Fei Jian all fought hard and sailed well to make this a closely-contested class.

Final Series Awards Top 3-1

IRC1-IRC 40′-IRC2-Cruising Monohulls.

Final Series Awards- Multihulls.

The biggest upset of the regatta saw Scott Galle’s Blade Runner IX take first overall on handicap in the Racing Multis over Dan Fidock’s Fugazi, which had line honours in every race and was a sight to behold as they flew by on the course. Aland Cawardine’s newest Stealth Cosmo and Twister 2 took third and fourth spots in this division, respectively.

Final Series Awards

Multihull Racing-Firefly 850-Pulse 600-Multihull Cruising

In the Firefly 850 class, John Newnham’s Twin Sharks and Hans Rahmann’s Voodoo renewed their storied rivalry but Newnham’s international crew just proved too strong as Twin Sharks won every race except the last one, which they did finish. Voodoo did take second overall though, followed by Blue Noze, Mamba Surf Patrol, and Moto Inzi, which made a nice recovery after its nosedive at the Multihull Solutions Regatta the previous week.            

In the Pulse 600 division Mick Tilden’s Pixalux and Simon Oliver’s Sudu Red finished tied in points but Pixalux took the title because it had more first-place finishes. Multihull Solutions H30, SuDu Grey and SuDu Yellow rounded out the class.   

Gary Slattery’s DaVinci didn’t have any competition so by default won the Cruising Multis.

All the race results are HERE

Hi Resolution images HERE See all the pictures day by day HERE